May 21, 6-8pm @ Back of Beyond Books | Robyn Dabney signs her new book, “The Ascenditure”

February 15 @ 7pm at Grand County Public Library. Lee Bennett discusses her new book, The Dugout Ranch: A Land Use Perspective 1875-1965

April 17, 5:30-7pm at Back of Beyond Books. Brianna Madia signing from her second memoir: Never Leave the Dogs Behind

October 15 @ 6 pm at Back of Beyond Books. Betsy Gaines Quammen and David Quammen for an evening of readings and discussion.

October 20 @ 7pm at Back of Beyond Books: An Evening with Karin Anderson and Amber Caron. This Event is in Conjunction with the Utah Humanities Book Festival.

October 24 @ 7 pm at the Grand County Public Library: Conservation photographer and author Dave Showalter takes us on a stunning multimedia journey through the vast Colorado River Watershed

November 3 @ 7 pm at the Grand County Public Library: Author and Historian Barbara Jones Brown in conversation about her new book Vengeance is Mine: The Mountain Meadows Massacre and its Aftermath

September 23 @ 6 pm at Grand County Public Library: An Evening with Author John Fayhee

June 26, 7PM at Back of Beyond Books: David Gessner in conversation about his new book, A TRAVELER’S GUIDE TO THE END OF THE WORLD: TALES OF FIRE, WIND, AND WATER

 

June 1, 7PM at Grand County Public Library: A Reading and Conversation with Melissa L. Sevigny and her new book, BRAVE THE WILD RIVER

Past Events

December 9, 2022: Author Reading with R.E. Burrillo – The Backwoods of Everywhere

After an upstate New York childhood and a bartending stint in New Orleans’ French Quarter, seasonal resort work led R. E. Burrillo to the desert Southwest, whose redrock landscapes were a source of stability through mental and physical illness. In The Backwoods of Everywhere, archaeologist Burrillo excavates his past, examining Indigenous and tourist cultures, the complexities of American archaeology, and what it means to be a local. In the vein of Bill Bryson, Tim Cahill, and Ellen Meloy, Burrillo’s is a fresh voice in humor-spiked nature writing and cultural commentary.

November 15, 2022: Book Release Celebration of Craig Childs’ Stone Desert

Originally published over twenty-five years ago, Stone Desert brings the wonder and wildness of one of our nation’s most geologically and culturally unique national parks to readers everywhere. With a new introduction by the author, this edition includes Craig Childs’s original journal—written over a winter in Canyonlands National Park and complete with pen-and-ink sketches—from which Stone Desert originated. Join Childs as he hikes the high mesas, navigates the winding canyons, and witnesses the ancient rock art of Utah’s most inscrutable and remote slickrock desert.

October 14, 2022: Suzanne Roberts in Conversation with Amy Irvine

Suzanne Roberts is the author of the award-winning essay collection Animal Bodies: On Death, Desire, and Other Difficulties (March 2022), the award-winning travel memoir in essays Bad Tourist: Misadventures in Love and Travel (2020), and the memoir Almost Somewhere: Twenty-Eight Days on the John Muir Trail (Winner of the National Outdoor Book Award), as well as four books of poems. Named “The Next Great Travel Writer” by National Geographic’s Traveler, Suzanne’s work has been listed as notable in Best American Essays and included in The Best Women’s Travel Writing. Suzanne holds a doctorate in literature and the environment from the University of Nevada-Reno, teaches in the low residency MFA program in creative writing at UNR-Tahoe, and splits her time between South Lake Tahoe, California and an old green van named Shrek.

Amy Irvine is the author of numerous essays and four nonfiction books addressing environmental, Indigenous and feminist concerns. She is a contributing editor for Orion Magazine, her work has appeared or is forthcoming in Outside, Orion, Pacific Standard, Best American Science & Nature Writing, and Best American Food Writing. Her first memoir, Trespass, received the Orion Book Award, and the Ellen Meloy Desert Writers Award. Her second memoir, Almost Animal, is forthcoming by Spiegel & Grau in Spring 2023. Irvine, a Mountainview MFA alumnus, lives, writes, and teaches off-grid on a remote mesa in southwest Colorado.

Not All Great Minds Are The Same: Dr. Temple Grandin at Star Hall May 30, 6PM

March 17 & 18: The 2023 Albuquerque Antiquarian Book Fair

Please join Back of Beyond Books in New Mexico this St. Patrick’s Day weekend!

March 17, 2023, 7 PM, Back of Beyond Books and the Grand County Public Library present a reading and signing with Scott Graham and his new book: Saguaro Sanction

 

March 18, 6PM at the Moab Arts and Recreation Center: Douglas Brinkley in conversation about his new book Silent Spring Revolution

Back of Beyond Books will be present at this event to sell copies of Brinkley’s new book, Silent Spring Revolution.

 

March 19, 2023, 7 PM, Back of Beyond Books and the Moab MARC present Art in Everyday Language: An Open Mic

 

 

 

March 21, 2023, 7PM at Back of Beyond Books: Author reading and signing with Shelley Read and her debut novel — Go as a River

April 21, 2023, 7PM at Back of Beyond Books: Author Reading and Signing with Morgan Sjogren and Her Book, Path of Light

 

BoBB Rare Dept 🤝 Classic Westerns 🤝 Cool vintage cover art 🤝 Dirtbag-friendly prices

What more could you want?

#backofbeyond #backofbeyondbooks #bobbraredept #vintagewesterns #eatsleepreadlocal #moab #moabutah
We're back in the rhythm of our regularly scheduled Staff Picks! Today, from Collee :)

"Henry Henry"
By Allen Bratton

"Happy Pride Month to all! In the spirit of the month, I offer you 'Henry Henry,' a first novel by Allen Bratton. This book is billed as a Queer retelling of Shakespeare's 'Henriad' (a group of plays depicting the rise of the English kings). The story revolves around Hal, the twenty-something son and heir to Henry, Duke of Lancaster. The setting is London in 2014 and Hal is deeply sunk into the party scene. He's out, but the death of a family member from AIDS ten years before casts a shadow over his sexuality in the eyes of his father. His mother died years ago and his many siblings are free agents, unhindered by the title that hangs over Hal's head. What this novel does well is depict the complexity of family relationships, the struggle to feel worthy of love (especially in a family deeply entrenched in Catholic guilt) and the search for a way through years of trauma to a place where one can feel agency of a kind. 'Henry Henry' is a lushly written debut and a powerful read."

- Collee

#backofbeyond #backofbeyondbooks #bobbstaffpick #bookrecommendations #booktok #bookstagram #eatsleepreadlocal #moab #moabutah