Past Events

December 9, 2022: Author Reading with R.E. Burrillo – The Backwoods of Everywhere

After an upstate New York childhood and a bartending stint in New Orleans’ French Quarter, seasonal resort work led R. E. Burrillo to the desert Southwest, whose redrock landscapes were a source of stability through mental and physical illness. In The Backwoods of Everywhere, archaeologist Burrillo excavates his past, examining Indigenous and tourist cultures, the complexities of American archaeology, and what it means to be a local. In the vein of Bill Bryson, Tim Cahill, and Ellen Meloy, Burrillo’s is a fresh voice in humor-spiked nature writing and cultural commentary.

November 15, 2022: Book Release Celebration of Craig Childs’ Stone Desert

Originally published over twenty-five years ago, Stone Desert brings the wonder and wildness of one of our nation’s most geologically and culturally unique national parks to readers everywhere. With a new introduction by the author, this edition includes Craig Childs’s original journal—written over a winter in Canyonlands National Park and complete with pen-and-ink sketches—from which Stone Desert originated. Join Childs as he hikes the high mesas, navigates the winding canyons, and witnesses the ancient rock art of Utah’s most inscrutable and remote slickrock desert.

October 14, 2022: Suzanne Roberts in Conversation with Amy Irvine

Suzanne Roberts is the author of the award-winning essay collection Animal Bodies: On Death, Desire, and Other Difficulties (March 2022), the award-winning travel memoir in essays Bad Tourist: Misadventures in Love and Travel (2020), and the memoir Almost Somewhere: Twenty-Eight Days on the John Muir Trail (Winner of the National Outdoor Book Award), as well as four books of poems. Named “The Next Great Travel Writer” by National Geographic’s Traveler, Suzanne’s work has been listed as notable in Best American Essays and included in The Best Women’s Travel Writing. Suzanne holds a doctorate in literature and the environment from the University of Nevada-Reno, teaches in the low residency MFA program in creative writing at UNR-Tahoe, and splits her time between South Lake Tahoe, California and an old green van named Shrek.

Amy Irvine is the author of numerous essays and four nonfiction books addressing environmental, Indigenous and feminist concerns. She is a contributing editor for Orion Magazine, her work has appeared or is forthcoming in Outside, Orion, Pacific Standard, Best American Science & Nature Writing, and Best American Food Writing. Her first memoir, Trespass, received the Orion Book Award, and the Ellen Meloy Desert Writers Award. Her second memoir, Almost Animal, is forthcoming by Spiegel & Grau in Spring 2023. Irvine, a Mountainview MFA alumnus, lives, writes, and teaches off-grid on a remote mesa in southwest Colorado.

Here's another epic find from our spectacular rare department!

The Earth First! Reader: Ten Years of Radical Environmentalism
By John Davis [Ed.]

Salt Lake City, UT: Gibbs Smith, 1991. Softcover. 8vo; 272 pp. Publisher’s presentation copy. Stated first edition with full number line on copyright page. Signed by Earth First! Co-founder Ron Kezar at the start of his contribution on page 50. Kezar also wrote “Leon Czolgosz,” which is the pen name he used for this particular piece instead of his usual “Bill Haywood.” Illustrated red and tan wrappers with black lettering on spine. Small tear to head of spine; minor wear to edges and joints; spine is slightly faded. Perfect binding is tight. Interior is clean. Sticker about the binding is affixed to inside of front wrapper. Includes a foreword by Dave Foreman, another co-founder of Earth First! Three items are laid in: 1) a presentation TLS from Madge Baird, editorial director of Gibbs Smith, to Kezar; 2) a postcard invitation to Edward Abbey’s memorial service, addressed to Kezar from Clarke Abbey; 3) a business card-sized announcement for an Edward Abbey reading in Prescott, Arizona in April 1988.

This book collects environmental essays from ten years of the Earth First! Journal. It features the work of over 40 writers, notably Edward Abbey, Joanna Macy, Gary Nabhan, Doug Peacock, and Gary Snyder.

EF-025036 $200

 #backofbeyondbooks #moabutah #bookstagram #eatsleepreadlocal #moab #bobbreaderschoice #bookrecommendations #recentacquisitions #backofbeyond #bobbraredept #Backofbeyond #Moabutah #read
This weeks staff pick is brought to you by Julia Buckwalter!! 

 I'm delighted to share a new dazzling work of poetry with you, Instructions for Traveling West by Joy Sullivan. Imagine an alternative universe wherein Emily Dickinson and Mary Oliver share a daughter, whose godfather was Jim Harrison. He tells her stories about mountains while she grows up playing next-door with Rupi Kaur, eventually writing her thesis on Women Who Run With the Wolves. And here you have a new modern classic! 135 poems are divided into six parts, plus an interlude:
I: Realize You're Homesick
II: Come Apart
III: Commit to the Road
Interlude: Westward, A Woman Walks
IV: Reacquaint Yourself With Desire
V: Give Grief Her Own Lullabye
VI: Remind Yourself, Joy Is Not a Trick
At approximately half a page in length each, these poems are bite-sized chunks of heart, heat, wonder and story that will both unseat and settle the soul, setting it aloft like a cloud that will fill up with meaningful rain during its journey.  Sullivan speaks of love and longing with the same care and attention as she does tomatoes and mountains, her capable eyes drawing meaning and richness from everyday living.  Her poems are expressed with the urgency of amazement, yet contain the Taoist balance of knowing while not knowing - everything I feel the above-mentioned poets and possible influences succeed in.  This book is a long, delicious drink of living words... I especially enjoyed the poems that evolved the story of Eve in the Garden of Eden. I read hungrily but found myself pausing to savor, sometimes saying out loud, "Wow." I highly recommend it!
Excerpt from Giving Notice: "Do what you should have done years ago. Let your body out to pasture. Fill your calendar with nothing but sky. Surrender to the woods. To cicadas and sap beetles. To the moths, the color of memory and dream. Wear dusk like an ancient cloak. Hurry--"

#moab #summerready #backofbeyond #backofbeyondbooks #staffpicks #read #moabutah